WANTED: HEARTS THAT CARE

(Here’s another account of a faithful witness who works among the most suffering and needy people in America. She is calling for more workers to go into the harvest fields.)

Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ “ (Mt. 25:34-36)

THE LOST LAODICEAN CHURCH

I was sent to the USA by the Lord to serve in 2005. I came to a wealthy town in MO on the outskirts of Kansas City. The poverty that was mostly hidden was savage. I saw the terrible spiritual state of people, and how they needed God’s love so much. God showed me people, mostly women, hidden behind closed doors, their blinds closed, windows tightly shut in a prison of life’s making. Such hurt, lostness, rejection…everything. And who was going to knock on their doors and show them the love of Jesus, and ask what they could do for them?

A huge megachurch in my area stands proudly on top of a hill with a million dollar gymnasium, a Starbucks cafe, and a $70,000 singing Christmas tree, with all the trappings to entertain people, if only they can afford to attend. Meanwhile, there are women sleeping in cars with their little children, cripples living in poor run-down apartments with no bed to lie on, just hard floors… and I could go on and on.

I used to deliver 70 trays of bread and cakes each week to the hungry – especially in one apartment block where people were desperate for help and for God’s love. There are many addicts in need of help, wives beaten by desperate husbands, and who knows what was happening to their children — all hiding behind closed doors.

The effect of me just knocking on the door and seeing the haunted, desperately pained faces smile when the simple words, “God loves you, and I am here to see if there is anything I can do to help you” were spoken was enough to break your heart. The gift of a loaf of bread and a cake were probably the first kind gesture they’ve had in years. Some of those dark and dank apartments smelled like an animal cage — a result of people having locked themselves up in there for years and living day after day in those conditions.

I looked around that town, and I saw only one pastor (a cripple himself) and his precious wife out there bent on helping the needy, when they themselves had so little, and worked from an old car and their little church, which was a rented office. People who called themselves Christians had yard sales, some of their stuff given away — like “good-as-new” expensive furniture that they were discarding, with “stuff” bulging from their big expensive homes, yet there were people living in their area in desperate need of help that they simply didn’t want to know about.

Although it was bit overwhelming, I did all I could. I had a pantry, and clothes closet, and took in people who wanted to get their lives in order (God’s way). I did what I could, but it broke my heart to see such a prideful, selfish “me” attitude wherever I went, and I have often wondered if any one of those stinky, dirty lost souls had wandered into one of these high falutin self-appointed churches, what the reaction would be. God created each and every one of them just the same and loves them just as much, and I am sure it grieves Him to see these people dying in their sins, not knowing the love and forgiveness of Jesus Christ.

I live in North Carolina now, and do what I can, when and where I can, often simply going to Walmart to pray for people and lay hands on them to heal them. But there are countless numbers of people behind closed doors that are drugging and drinking themselves to death. As Jesus said, “The harvest is ripe, but the workers are few. Pray the Lord of the harvest will send workers.” And it’s not money, but hearts that care, that are needed. The heart of Jesus, and His Holy Spirit is what is needed.

It is the cross of Christ that He died on at Passover, and the death of self we died with Him, so that life may come from it, that needs to be awakened in Christians everywhere. We must share this resurrection life of Christ with others that they might live also. As far as these luxurious homes and lifestyles are concerned, I remind those who read this of the words of Paul himself.

“Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ” (Phil. 3:8).

I work with kid-gloves walking on eggshells to bring the love of God to families that have lived and known only violence and addiction to alcohol and drugs.  There is so much dysfunction and pain in this country that needs addressing, and so few who will “go” in the name of the Lord to address this terrible affliction.

The kids of today are lost because their parents are lost. How can the parents guide the poor children if they do not have the godly wisdom that is needed to teach them God’s ways? And as the church becomes weaker and weaker, so Satan’s strongholds become stronger and stronger, and more and more vocal. There truly is a great departure from the faith in the church today as Paul prophesied (1 Tim. 4:1), and for the most part, Jesus’ warnings go unheard and unheeded. Apart from a small remnant, a large portion of the Church in America are wretched, miserable, poor, blind, and naked, and know not the truth of God’s Word. It’s high time for many of our church members to humble themselves, turn from their wicked ways, repent earnestly, and seek God’s face and plan.

May God give us hearts that care and is followed by corresponding actions.

View short inspirational video:

Change begins when we start to care.

 

6 thoughts on “WANTED: HEARTS THAT CARE

  1. Awesome direction–may we experience that death, that brings His life, and draws the lost to Him; and enables us to sacrifice to do the unpleasant, and difficult works, and bear fruit for His glory!

Leave a Reply

