THE CONDESCENSION OF OUR GOD

There I was on one of Atlanta’s super highways stuck in bumper to bumper rush hour traffic. I was allowing myself to get frustrated as my wife tried to assure me that eventually the traffic would break up and we would move. “There’s nothing we can do. Being frustrated is not going to help the situation!” she exclaimed, adding, “Why don’t you just praise the Lord?” Thank God for sensible and virtuous wives!

After finally letting my hasty emotions subside I began to meditate on the Lord and receive His peace. Then I started thinking about the Father’s love and care, and rehearsing how good He’d been to me and my family. Specifically, a vision a minister friend of mine had of the Father’s unconditional love was floating in my thoughts.

In this vision my friend was somewhere in the Middle East about three feet off the ground. He was observing a Muslim couple praying to Allah to meet their needs. The husband needed to sell his vegetables in the market place so that his wife could purchase a mirror, a hairbrush, and one other item, and I believe their rent was also due. They asked Allah for these things, and then the man put his vegetables on his cart and headed out to the market.

Before he even got to the market a man came running to him and requested to buy all his vegetables. With restrained excitement the man gladly sold him all his vegetables and ran home to tell his wife how Allah had prospered his day. They both rejoiced and gave thanks.
In this vision the heavenly Father then told my friend, “I did that for them.”

My friend responded, “But Father, they are Muslims and they prayed to Allah, a false god.”

“Haven’t you read in my word where I cause the sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and I send rain on the just and on the unjust?”

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust” (Mt. 5:43-45).
At first, this vision my friend had messed with my theology just as it did his. But when this scripture was given to him by the Spirit of God I accepted it and I received more light concerning the goodness and kindness of our loving Father.

God is righteous, holy, and just, but He is also very kind, merciful, and full of compassion. That is the part of His character that is most appealing and most attractive to mankind. It inspires faith and praise in us and pulls on our heart strings.

Read the following verse very slowly and let it be engraved in your heart forever.

“The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, slow to anger and great in mercy. The Lord is good to all, and His tender mercies are over all His works” (Ps. 145:8-9).

As I was reflecting on the thoughts of the aforementioned vision my heart began to rejoice in the beauty and lovingkindness of the Lord. Stuck in the middle of rush hour traffic suddenly a song came forth from my heart to the Lord:

“I love the way You are
Lord, I love the way You are,
I love, I love the way You are.
Your heart, it captivates me,
Your beauty fascinates me,
And I love, I love the way You are.”

I sang this little melody over and over again, with tears of gratitude and then with joy and laughter interspersed throughout this time of loving and adoring the Lord. Needless to say, I forgot all about the rush hour traffic as I was filled with the Spirit.

Just a glimpse of the Lord’s beauty, kindness, and compassion will melt your heart. A revelation of His love and grace is the transforming power of every life.

***This is an excerpt taken from my new book, The Real Jesus, which is due to be released sometime next month. 

8 thoughts on “THE CONDESCENSION OF OUR GOD

  1. That vision is amazing, and along with the scripture, a powerful reminder that our ways are not God’s ways! Makes me think too, that it has to be all by the Spirit in us — human love, and efforts won’t make it! Reading lately in 2 Cor.–so much wonderful instruction about dying to self, that His life would come through!

Leave a Reply

