INTRODUCTION TO THE REAL JESUS

First, THE REAL SALVATION, then THE REAL GOSPEL, followed by THE REAL SPIRIT OF REVIVAL, and now our newest upcoming release, THE REAL JESUS. Here’s why I’m excited about this new book.

The real identity of the Church is in proportion to her identity with the real Jesus. But too often the believer’s identity is with things pertaining to a form of Christianity based on doctrinal fads and theological biases, or a leader’s personality, shaped within a “Christian” subculture built on its’ own ideals, philosophies and traditions, combined with a particular brand or flavor of God created in our own image, and not with Christ Himself.

Here are some great quotes from the preface of the book:

“You thought I was altogether as thyself” – The Psalms

“It seems to me that if we get one look at Christ in His love and beauty, this world and its pleasures will look very small to us.” ~D.L. Moody~

“Much of our difficulty as seeking Christians stems from our unwillingness to take God as He is and adjust our lives accordingly. We insist upon trying to modify Him and to bring Him nearer to our own image.” ~A.W. Tozer~

“When we see Jesus as He is, 
glorious and worthy of our deepest loyalties and affections,
 deserving of our total focus and supreme attention, we will catch fire inwardly and burn with holy fear,
 and a holy hunger for the Word will grip our hearts,
 and we will proclaim Him as He is.” ~Anonymous~

“There is a God we want and there is a God who is… and they are not the same God.” ~Patrick Morley~

“As a child I received instruction both in the Bible and in the Talmud. I am a Jew, but I am enthralled by the luminous figure of the Nazarene. No one can read the gospels without feeling the actual presence of Jesus. His personality pulsates in every word. No myth is filled with such life.” ~Albert Einstein~ Saturday Evening Post, Oct 26, 1929

“The wicked have fashioned a god who will not hold them accountable.” ~Carter Conlon~

“It is a painful process to discover that one has invested not in Jesus, but in one’s theology about Jesus.” ~Anonymous~

“Too many Christians want a manageable, domesticated Jesus who makes no demands on their time, money, words, social life, and sexuality. In the midst of this great and growing deception, God is looking for uncompromising believers who are committed to proclaiming the truth of the gospel and not the counterfeit Jesus of Western Culture.” ~Anonymous~

“Too many of us have constructed a “god in a box”, a god whose job is merely to pander to our needs, desires, and ambitions.” ~Anonymous~

“We offer a motivational, pep-talk, feel good, self-help, personal-empowerment Jesus rather than the Jesus of the Scriptures, and in doing so, we damn our hearers rather than deliver them.” ~Dr. Michael L. Brown~

“Many are convinced they are faithful Bible believers, but in fact worship a different Jesus — one contracted from a “revelation” they supposedly received from the latest “Christian” cultural fad or their favorite celebrity superstar preacher — an idolatrous, fantasy, and fictitious Jesus constructed subjectively in their own minds and built upon the sentiment of American values. Sooner or later we are going to have to come to grips with the Person and ethics of Jesus Christ, and get serious about who He really is.” ~Dr. Stephen Crosby~

“Sadly, I think many in the community of believers cling to an Americanized gospel which equates what is biblically true and reliable with being part and parcel of various right wing political agendas. Actually, Christianity itself in the US and many other nations has been interpreted (and by virtue of this) rewritten to gel with sentiments and ideas that actually run contrary to what Messiah taught and advocated (Torah based Judaism), e.g., unbridled capitalism and the greed it is predicated on and the corruption it engenders and promotes. I dare say if Yeshua HaMashiach physically visited most American churches He would not recognize what was being taught and advocated as being remotely like what He articulated and lived.” ~Dr. Anthony Payne~

Aren’t those powerful and compelling quotes?

THE CALL TO WRITE

The Lord spoke to me many years ago and said that by His grace He would use me to speak a word of love and restoration to His Church. In other words, I would have a small part in helping to restore the real spirit of Christianity in the Church today. This is the God given purpose in all  my writings. Actually, it is much of my thought process behind everything I do in ministry. This purpose keeps me focused on  my own assignment and from comparing it to what other good ministers may be doing in the body of Christ. The books I write are a major part of that purpose and what the Lord said was my life’s greatest work. This is why I continue to write. For me, it is not a craft; it’s a calling.

I’ve had to travel the road of self-publishing because traditional publishing companies continually turn down my books, using as their common reason, that the messages are not “felt needs”. That’s their nice way of saying, “these books do not scratch people’s itching ears and won’t sell.” And since I don’t have a household name in Christendom or a large platform they will usually bypass my submitted manuscripts. They want lots of up front money but expect me to do the bulk of the work of actually promoting the book.

I published my first book traditionally nearly 20 years ago and purchased 5,000 books at $3 each for a total of $15,000. I can’t believe I was able to raise that much money for it back then, except to say that the Lord put His favor on this project because of the importance of the message. Unfortunately, without a platform, I wasn’t able to sell them all, but still have several boxes of them left in storage. I understand the business side of it, so I’m not bitter at all, nor am I complaining. My beef is this: if you call yourself a Christian publishing company then it should be a ministry more than it is a business. The chief purpose of any Christian publishing ministry should be to publish the word of the Lord and not what sells. Just keeping it real folks…

THE REAL JESUS is another forthcoming book that I know “Christian” publishing companies wouldn’t take on in their politically-correct and sales motivated world. For one thing, parts of the book are too radical and will shine a light again on what is defiling much of the Western Church. This was also the reason my last book, Passing On The Move Of God To The Next Generation was rejected by another company that a friend of mine highly recommended. The Acquisitions Director told me that the book was too negative. They wanted a “how to” book, but that’s not my writing style. The book is a prophetic call to the Church, not a teaching manual. By the way, for two more weeks this book is FREE in exchange for the readers’ honest review. So get it now while it’s free. Just click the link above. It’s not just about a sale but it’s about getting the message out to a broader readership within the Church.

Here’s what one successful senior pastor of a large church testified about the FREE book:

I just finished your book “Passing the Move of God to the Next Generation” and I have to say, it is the best thing I’ve read in a very long time. I have the privilege of pastoring a great church and I have required all the elders, pastors and leaders to read the book. I was saved in early 1975 in a genuine move of God. I want everyone I know to experience what God did then, and I believe He wants to do again! I could go on and on, but I want to challenge everyone to read and share.”

If you’re interested in this theme of restoration please also check out out my other aforementioned REAL books here Bert’s Amazon Page, and be looking for the REAL JESUS to be released soon. I hope these books are a blessing to you, and that you will share them with others, and post reviews for them. Reviews especially help the work of self publishers appear on more searches.

Sorry if this sounds like self promotion and a bunch of rambling. That is not my intent at all. As always, if you’ve read this far, thanks for your time today and for your readership.  With love and appreciation for each of you, I am your servant brother in the Lord.

6 thoughts on “INTRODUCTION TO THE REAL JESUS

  1. Excellent quotes! I’m in a series called “Spring Cleaning” and the last two messages have been on holiness and righteousness. It’s time we impact the culture again instead of conforming to it. Thanks again for your clear message.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Douglas M. Bankson Senior Pastor Victory Church World Outreach Center

    You were born to win!

    >

  2. Hi Bert, I’m a new fan. I have eye issues and find reading difficult , unless it’s in large print. I do buy teaching/ preaching CD’s.I love Holy Spirit lead on fire, get your heart right,Jesus is the truth , light and the ONLY way stuff. Let the lights be brighter in this darkness. In Jesus name , may you find the better way to get your word out. Sid Roth may help? I live on Cape Cod….at times the NE feels like God’s chosen Frozen. Revival of our spiritual roots is very needed. Be encouraged. God Bless you.

  3. Hi Bert, yes the Christian publishing industry is an eye-opener! I don’t know if you’ve tried any UK publishers but Christian Focus Publications in Scotland is not too bad. Keep on keeping on, your message needs to be heard.

Leave a Reply

