DRUNK WITH LOVE

Somebody is praying for me. Perhaps many are. My heart has been enlarged. The Heavenly Father’s love is moving strong in me, which is a direct manifestation of the following prayer.

“Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God” (Eph. 3:17-19 – NLT).

When we are born again and baptized in the Holy Spirit the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts (Rom. 5:5). Right after I gave my life to Jesus Christ (my life, not a compartment of my life) immediately I noticed something moving on the inside of me. It wasn’t loud like an earthquake or the winds of a tornado. It wasn’t flashy or notably visible like the flame of a fire. It was a deep peace that flowed like a calm river. It was a love that cast out fear and comforted me and assured me of God the Father’s care – like an orphan who suddenly had the feeling of belonging to a family and having a father (Rom. 8:15-16).

It was this love that called me and made God irresistible to me. It was the presence of this love that melted my heart and made it easy to love Him in return and to want to please Him and obey Him. It is this love that causes grown men to fall to their knees and cry like a baby – something I’ve witnessed so many times in my life and ministry. This is a love that caused the early Christians to share all they had (Acts 2 & 4). It is a love that caused the disciples to fall on Paul’s neck and kiss him once he told them farewell and parted from them for good (Acts 21).

It is this love that leads to a consecrated lifestyle and makes it so easy to walk away from a sinful lifestyle. This is the love of our Father God – a love that is so individualistic and personal that it can sometimes seem as if you are the only one He loves. Nothing and no one can ever separate us from this love. It should fuel us every day.

This love when in mature manifestation will even allow a wicked person to kill you for the Name of Jesus Christ, as Christ allowed His persecutors to kill Him. This love will turn the other cheek and walk another mile for the glory of God and the good of others.

It is a love that constantly seeks expression, not only in word, but especially in deed and in truth (1 Jn. 3:18). When this love grows in you, you will care less and less about serving yourself and more and more about serving others. This love will willingly pour itself out for the salvation of sinners and addict you to the ministry of the saints. This love will make you weep tenderly with those who mourn and laugh heartily with those who rejoice. This love is nothing less than the unfathomable love of Jesus that laid down His life for us. When His love rules your heart you will find yourself doing the same for others.

Lately this love, wrapped up in God’s Spirit, has made me reel like a drunk man in near silly delight. This love released in the bowels of my heart has lifted me to new heights in God and given me an undeniably clean high. Haha! This eternal love has me in its grips and won’t let me go.

I believe there is some kind of mystery behind this deeper level of love that I’ve been experiencing that has to do with my earthly Daddy’s departure last month. For example, the desire to see my family and my unsaved loved ones receive this love has increased in me. The love for sinners has increased in me. I know when departed saints arrive in that heavenly city and become a part of that great cloud of witnesses their desire for the world’s salvation increases manifold. There is great rejoicing in heaven over every sinner who repents.

Some of my earthly Daddy’s last words on the earth were on love and forgiveness. God brought him out of a semi-conscious state to prophesy those words in his final hours. Besides the prayers of the saints that have contributed to a greater revelation of God’s love in me, I believe there was some kind of transaction made in heaven upon my Daddy’s arrival that released a greater deposit of that love into my own heart here on the earth – similar to Elijah leaving a double portion of his spirit upon Elisha, his predecessor (2 Kings 2). Just a thought that needs to be searched out in the Scriptures.

Notice again the Spirit-inspired prayer in Ephesians 3:14-21, especially v. 19. “Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.”  The results of knowing the width and length and depth and height of the love of Christ which passes knowledge is that we will be made complete with all the fulness of life and power that comes from God. The NKJ version says that we may be “filled with all the fulness of God”. Wow! That is where we are headed, folks – whether on this earth we receive that revelation, early or later in life, or in heaven, we are to grow in this love and make it our aim to know it, pursue it, and walk in more of it every single day.  

I’d encourage you to pray that Ephesians prayer for others and for yourself that you might have the effectual working of His power that will reveal His personal love to you in greater measure.

Abundant grace and peace from our Father be multiplied to each of you.

2 thoughts on “DRUNK WITH LOVE

Leave a Reply

