FIRE STARTERS FOR THE NEW YEAR: GREAT QUOTES FROM REVIVALISTS

I want you to burn for Jesus in 2016. I’m praying for the Church of Jesus Christ to burn brightly this year with the fire of God.

When I was interviewed by Sid Roth many weeks ago he asked me to come up with 31 revival quotes as part of a package called “House On Fire” that his ministry would make available on the broadcast Sid Roth Interview. In case you did not get to watch the interview or purchase the package, here are the revival quotes. Every time I read these quotes I get stirred with the fire of God. I trust they will do the same for you. Be blessed!

1. “Revival is a renewed conviction of sin and repentance, followed by an intense desire to live in obedience to God.” Charles G. Finney

2. “A revival can be expected when Christians have the spirit of prayer for a revival.” Charles G. Finney

3. “The spirit of prayer and personal revival will be gained in direct proportion to your pursuit of Christ.” Bert Farias

4. “There is something there from another world. You cannot say whence it came and whither it is going, but it moves and lives and reaches for you all the time.” William T. Stead, a London newspaper editor, describing the Welch revival

5. “Revival is always a revival of holiness.” Duncan Campbell

6. “Think not that thou shalt attain the highest in God until within thine own soul a heavenly longing to be like Him Who gave His all for us possesses thine own heart.” John G. Lake

7. “Revival is when the saints return to normal, when the Holy Spirit becomes their oxygen, when a hunger to know God is the norm, when being conformed to His image is their focus, and when evangelism and discipleship become a lifestyle.” Bert Farias

8. “The way into the glory is through the flesh being torn away from the world and separated unto God.” Smith Wigglesworth

9. “If there is anything of power in my ministry today, it is because God has all the adoration of my heart, all the power of my will, and all the influence of my life.” William Booth

10. “When God brought me into a deeper experience with Him He spoke by the Spirit making me to know I had to reach the place of absolute yielded-ness and cleansing so that there would be nothing left.” Smith Wigglesworth
11. “There is going to be a great spiritual awakening in the world, and it is going to come from plain, simple people who know – not simply believe – but actually know that God answers prayer.” George Washington Carver

12. “God is going to take the do-nothings, the nobodies, the unheard of, the going to give to them this outpouring of the Spirit of God.” Tommy Hicks

13. “A burning heart will find for itself a flaming tongue.” Charles
Spurgeon

14. “Repeat in your heart often, ‘baptized with the Holy Ghost and fire, fire, fire.’” Smith Wigglesworth

15. “You never have to advertise a fire. Everyone comes running when there’s a fire. Likewise, if your church is on fire, you will not have to advertise it. The community will already know it.” Leonard Ravenhill

16. “No Christian is in a right condition, if he is not seeking in some way to bring souls to Christ.” C.H. Mackintosh

17. “If you’re not interested in the salvation of others, you’re not saved yourself. Be sure of that.” Charles Spurgeon

18. “Nothing, it seemed to me, could be put in competition with the worth of souls, and no labor, I thought, could be so sweet, and no employment so exalted, as that of holding up Christ to a dying world.” Charles G. Finney

19. “Give me one hundred preachers who fear nothing but sin, and desire nothing but God, and I care not a straw whether they be clergymen or laymen; such alone will shake the gates of hell and set up the kingdom of heaven on earth.” John Wesley

20. “Revival is when the Holy Spirit comes and makes everything new, fresh, and alive again.” Bert Farias

21. “A true revival means nothing less than a revolution, casting out the spirit of worldliness and selfishness, and making God and His love triumph in the heart and life.” Andrew Murray

22. “I have revival everywhere I go because I live full.” Smith Wigglesworth

23. “Being full of God is the condition for God’s perfect working in your life.” F.F. Bosworth

24. “I believe that the first essential of a real Holy Ghost church and a real Holy Ghost work is to begin to surround the baptism of the Holy Ghost with the reverence due an experience so sacred and so terribly costly.” John G. Lake

25. “If you can be fascinated by anything else in the world you don’t have what God wants you to have.” Smith Wigglesworth

26. “To hunger and thirst after righteousness means that nothing fascinates us so much as being near to God.” Smith Wigglesworth

27. “A time out of Christ’s glorious presence is two deaths and two hells for me. We must meet. I am not able to do without Him.” Samuel Rutherford

28. “I have only one passion; it is He, He alone.” Nicolas L. Zinzendorf

29. “How can believers move up higher in God? They need to pray long enough in other tongues to get over into that realm of prayer where the anointing starts flowing by the unction of the Holy Ghost.” Kenneth E. Hagin

30. “The Lord told me that there is a depth of prayer that will be lost unless we who are experienced in prayer somehow get those truths over to this present generation of believers.” Kenneth E. Hagin

31. “Prayer begets revival, which begets more prayer.” Jim Cymbala

32. “All revival begins, and continues, in the prayer meeting. Some have also called prayer the ‘great fruit of revival.’ In times of revival, thousands may be found on their knees for hours, lifting up their heartfelt cries, with thanksgiving, to heaven.” Henry Blackaby

4 thoughts on “FIRE STARTERS FOR THE NEW YEAR: GREAT QUOTES FROM REVIVALISTS

  1. Pingback: FIRE STARTERS FOR THE NEW YEAR: GREAT QUOTES FROM REVIVALISTS | Pray4Guam

  2. All these quotes make me think, the only way for America to be “great again” is to be godly, and lifting up God again! It’s a longstanding hope and prayer of mine to be involved with people who sincerely, under the Spirit’s direction are praying to this end! I wonder if that would be in N.H. as a few years ago, I had an enlightening type experience, that that was where God wanted me to move. I am still waiting on Him, and I believe I’m in a surrendered state about it (as well, there are a few reasons to go out West, if only temporarily); but I am perplexed as I wonder if He may not give me more direction, as He seemed to have strongly indicated N.H. already…yet to think of being “on my own” to work out getting there, as well as the timing, rather than trusting Him to direct my steps and timing, is disheartening. Maybe you have some advice, as this is confusing…thank you..

  3. Hi Penelope,

    Some questions to consider: Do you have family or friends up here? Any contacts at all? Is there a church or ministry you want to connect with and be a part of? Why not take a “spying out the land” trip for a few days as a way of getting confirmation from the Lord? Sometimes things are clearer when you walk the land. It is difficult for the Lord to direct a parked car.

Leave a Reply

