PRAYER: THE LANGUAGE OF THE SPIRIT (Part 5)

“And Enoch walked with God; and he was not, for God took him.” (Gen 5:24)

Enoch got so close to God He took him to heaven. That verse in the Amplified Bible reads this way:

“And Enoch walked [in habitual fellowship] with God; and he was not, for God took him [home with Him].”

I love the expression, “Enoch walked in habitual fellowship with God”. And then, “God took him home with Him.” Wow!

Prayer is walking with God. It is habitual fellowship with God. You can walk so close to God that you feel like you’re in heaven. It is cultivating a receptivity and sensitivity to His presence that will move you toward this richness of communion with him.

One day a man asked the Lord this question: “What is it you desire, Lord? What is on your heart?

The Lord responded: “I enjoy it when my people just like being with me, not asking anything of me, just enjoying me, for it is then that we enter into true communion and fellowship. This is my great desire; fellowship — to be with my people, that my people would enjoy me for just being me. This is true worship.”

I weep when I read that for it touches me deeply.

Many people only pray when there is a crisis. “Help!” they cry out. And the Lord does help them.

Others pray like they are taking an order at a restaurant. “I’ll have a hamburger and a small order of fries.” And the Lord will deliver.

Others pray as if they are on a business trip. “There’s a job to be done.” Yes, there is, but it’s in Him that it will get done.

Yet others will use praise and worship as a means of manipulating an answer from the Lord. “Like if I just praise Him enough He will send the answer.” And in spite of us, He often will.

When you think about it, though, how many really have learned to walk with the Lord as a close friend? This is the kind of walk that is really valued by the Lord.

Loneliness and sorrow fill the heart of the Lord for those of His children who treat what He’s done for them with so little respect and are caught up in this world’s pleasures.

Think for a moment about creation. God called everything He created good, especially man.

“Before I formed you in your mother’s womb I knew you; before you were born I sanctified you…” (Jer 1:5)

I love Psalm 139 for it contains God’s perfect knowledge of man.

“I will praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made…” (v 14)

The psalmist seems to pour through the knowledge God has of him in these verses, and then from a heart enlightened to God’s beauty, he exults forth toward the end of his reflection with this phrase:

“How precious also are your thoughts to me, O God! How great is the sum of them!”

Have you ever thought of your own uniqueness and how God fashioned you? He took time and effort in the design of every human being, and he loves them equally well. Your likes and dislikes are a product of his imagination. He thought you up.

My wife Carolyn loves roller coasters. I’m afraid of them! The higher they go, the faster they roll, the more Carolyn loves them. She will scream with silliness. God put that “like” in her. I made the mistake one time of going on one with her and I about died. I’m almost ashamed to admit it, but I was holding on to her leg all the way down (LOL). Some people think I’m bold and brave, but I’m a real chicken when it comes to that stuff. I don’t like heights. God put that “dislike” in me. You can’t change me (LOL) so don’t try. And yet I like to fly on airplanes because God knew I’d be a traveling preacher.

Before God even made the earth he thought of how he would shape our personalities, our circumstances, our time of birth and purpose in this life etc. for all human beings who have ever lived.

What about those born into difficult circumstances? God put enough ability and strength in them to overcome every difficulty as they seek him.

What about babies and innocent children who die or are killed? They’re with Jesus! And he will display the exceeding riches of his grace and his kindness to them in the ages to come (Eph 2:7).

God is fair and just and none of us will be able to find fault with him on judgment day.

Your prayer life and fellowship with God will change when you get your perception of him right. Your prayer life and fellowship with God will change when you get his perception of you right. How do you see Him? And how do you see yourself in relation to him?

You are his beloved. He’s waiting for you. He enjoys you. You are your Father’s child. You are your Savior’s prized and purchased possession. He longs for your friendship. Grace to learn to walk with him habitually abounds to you now. Selah.

 

Leave a Reply

